Tom Maynard Trust

Glamorgan’s 1997 Championship Squad Come Together for the Trust

By January 22, 2016March 30th, 2019No Comments

Glamorgan’s 1997 County Championship winning squad is to reunite this summer in aid of the Tom Maynard Trust.

The 14 players, who became only the third group in Glamorgan’s history to win the Championship title, will come together as part of the fourth Tom Maynard celebration day at St Fagans Cricket Club, which this year takes place on Friday 19th August.  Some of them will participate in the now traditional Twenty20 match between Matthew Maynard’s Invitation XI and the St Fagans club.

Maynard, who captained that successful 1997 team, said:

“We talked about this before Christmas and thought it was worth checking everyone’s availability as, with Pakistan touring the UK, there was a good chance that Waqar Younis might be around, which seemed to provide a great opportunity to try it. 

Mike Fatkin threw an email out and the response has been brilliant.  All 12 UK-based players confirmed almost immediately and we now have Adrian Dale, who lives and works in New Zealand, on board too.  We hope to be able to pin Waqar down at some stage to complete the playing group, though as Pakistan have a couple of one-day warm-up matches in Ireland around that time we can’t be 100% certain we’ll be able to manage it.  We’re in touch with Duncan Fletcher too to see if we can persuade him to come over from South Africa.

I’m not sure when it’ll be possible to get everyone together again in the future so this will be a really special occasion for all of us, even if we don’t quite get all 14 players there.  Throw in some of the management team such as John Derrick, Dean Conway and hopefully Duncan as well, maybe a few of the other squad players at the time, along with Mike and other members of staff back then, and it should be a fantastic trip down memory lane.  I’m thrilled that everyone has agreed to commit to it and to help the Trust in the process.  It’ll add spice to what is already a special day.”

The format of the event at St Fagans is that there is a special fundraising marquee lunch at which the 1997 squad will be guests, with some of them involved in a special Question and Answer session, followed by a Twenty20 game between Matthew Maynard’s Invitation XI, including some members of the ’97 squad and other special guests, and St Fagans Cricket Club. 

Details of how to support the event and to book places at the lunch can be obtained by contacting Jane John on 07809 050635 or by email at

1997 Glamorgan Squad:  Gary Butcher; Dean Cosker; Tony Cottey; Robert Croft; Adrian Dale; Alun Evans; Steve James; Matthew Maynard; Hugh Morris; Michael Powell; Adrian Shaw; Darren Thomas; Steve Watkin; Waqar Younis

Mike Fatkin

Author Mike Fatkin

More posts by Mike Fatkin